Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Hawks Awards Night Announced:

Following their series loss to the Flin Flon Bombers, the Nipawin Hawks have released information surrounding their 2012/2013 Awards Ceremony and Year End Banquet.

It will be held at the Evergreen Center on Thursday, March 28th beginning at 6:00 PM with cocktails. A dinner will follow at 7:00, with Team Awards, Jersey Auctions and a Dance to follow.

If you would like tickets, visit Diamond North Credit Union or call 812-8743 during evening hours only, please. They are available for $30.00 each.

Make sure to come wish the Hawks farewell as some embark on journeys outside of Nipawin & Hockey, while some head home for the off season before returning 'home' to the Cage in September.

Last year, Davis Jones took home the MVP, Playoff MVP, Lowes Memorial Award, Best Defensive Player, Rushmer Memorial Award, Most Popular Player, and 1st Star Overall Awards as well.

Tad Kozun finished tiedtied for 2nd in most Star honors, while Mitch Doell took home Rookie of the Year. Jeff Datoff was the Top Offensive Defense Winczura Memorial Award winner, while fellow D-man Jesse Williamson was the Graham Christie Memorial Trophy winner for Most Inspirational Player.

Dustin Skilliter also took home an award for Hardest Worker, while Brady Zerr and Grant Jensen were the Most Under-Rated Players. Ben Petros was the seasons' Most Improved Player, and along with Mitch Doell may be the only two awards that won't see a repeat winner.

If you rewind two seasons ago, Eli Lichtenwald also earned some hardware. He was the teams Top Scorer, Rookie of the Year and 1st Star Overall. Also 2 years ago, Jeff Datoff earned his first of back-to-back(to-back?) Offensive Defensman Award. Brady Zerr also puts himself in a spot for a threepeat as Most Under-Rated Player, while he also won Most Improved back in that 10/11 season.

Make sure you attend, just pop by Diamond North to pick up your tickets!

Award Catergories:

--Playoff MVP(Lowes Memorial)
--Best Defensive Player(Rushmer Memorial)
--Most Popular Player
--Top Scorer
--1st Star
--2nd Star
--Rookie of the Year
--Best Defensive Defenseman
--Hawks Community Service Award
--Best Offensive Defenseman(Winczura Memorial)
--Most Improved Player
--Most Dedicated Player
--Hardest Worker
--Most Inspirational Player(Graham Christie Memorial)
--Most Gentlemanly Player:
--Most Under-Rated Player (Madryga Memorial)

No comments:

Post a Comment