Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Locals Attend World U-17 Challenge Team Pacific Camp:

Four regional Hockey players are participating in the Team Canada Pacific Under 17 Hockey try out camp in Calgary this week, which will wrap up Sunday at the WinSport Arena.

Brandon Kegler of Leduc is competing between the pipes, while Curtis Miske of Beaumont, Wetaskiwin's Matt Fonteyne and Ardrossan's Grayson Pawlenchuk are all taking part as skaters.

Kegler spent last season with the Leduc Minor Midget AAA Oil Kings, posting a .919 save percentage and a 2.93 GAA.

As a 4th round WHL Bantam Draft selection of the Saskatoon Blades, Kegler is one of the top goaltending prospects with the host of this past seasons' Mastercard Memorial Cup.

Miske put up 33 points in 33 games with the LJAC Midget AAA Oil Kings in 2012/2013.

As a former Camrose Minor Hockey product, Miske moved to the LJAC program in 2012/2013 after being drafted in the 2nd Round by the Spokane Chiefs of the WHL.

Fonteyne also put up a point per game as a Midget AAA Oil King - with 34 points.

Matt was a 3rd Round Bantam Draft selection by the Everett Silvertips, and along with his 18 assists as an Oil King, he also put up a single helper in two games with the Silvertips.

Pawlenchuk spent the season with Sherwood Park's Midget AAA program, recording 26 points in 31 games.

Like goaltender Kegler, Grayson was also drafted in the 4th Round of the 2012 Bantam Draft, by the Red Deer Rebels; who put faith in the youngster by dressing him for 4 games, although he was held pointless.

The four are part of a 47-player camp competing for a spot on the 23-man roster.

The World Under 17 Challenge takes place in Sydney, Nova Scotia beginning December 29th.

Last year's Under 17 Team Pacific roster featured Leduc product Brandon Hickey, who spent the 12/13 season with the AJHL's Spruce Grove Saints, along with Leduc's Mike Williamson who was drafted to the Vancouver Canucks 175th overall at the 2012 NHL Entry Draft.

Some more notable graduates who have played with Team Pacific include:

- Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, 2010
- Evander Kane, 2008
- Brent Seabrook, 2002
- Dion Phaneuf, 2002
- Mike Green, 2002
- Jarome Iginla, 1994
- Joe Sakic, 1986

The full camp roster is available for viewing here.

No comments:

Post a Comment